Roasted Cabbage

I tried something new this evening. Our garden was flooded for almost a week last month and all off my green cabbage was just too far gone to leave. I didn’t want to waste it so I went ahead and pulled it all up and cut off all the baby cabbage heads. 

  
I cleaned them and removed the outer leaves then cut the larger ones in half. I put them all in a roasting dish with the cut half facing up. 

  
I then places cut pieces of thick sliced applewood smoked bacon on each one, then dribbled a bit of bacon grease over each and seasoned them with sea salt, black pepper, garlic powder and a touch of Glades seasoning. 

  
Covered with foil and baked at 425 for about an hour. I must say I’m impressed. I usually prefer my cabbage pan fried, but this was delicious! 

We also had a bunch of new potatoes that I was able to save from the potato plants the flood killed. I roasted them with several pork steaks and wow!

  
Also had cornbread, mixed greens and turnips from the garden and fresh yellow crookneck squash. Was a pretty good meal for an old country boy. 

  
  

Leave a Reply

