Happy Birthday Emily

Today is my wife’s birthday. 

  
It’s a strange world we live in. The older I get, the less I know. I’m sitting here today thinking over my life, looking at old pictures and notes, and would never have thought in a million years I’d be where I am today. 

Emily and I have a wonderful marriage. We have a good life. But what makes it strange is we had everything against us from the start. 

We got together when neither of us were looking and both coming out of another marriage. It wasn’t planned, it just sorta happened. We were friends that gradually fell in love. We had a lot of grief from family and friends at the start. We are both private people so no one knew what was really going on and like always, made up what they didn’t know. I’m turning 50 this year and she turns 28 today. That turned a lot of heads and upset a few folks. 

We are so different in so many different ways. I’m old and she is young. I’m uneducated and she’s educated. I’m from a poor farm family and she’s from a middle class family. She likes steak while I’m happy with beans. Her idea of a garden was having a couple of tomato plants when I had over 200 the year she moved in with me. She’s always joking and fun loving while I’m serious and stern. I’m OCD and she’s a mess. We are the odd couple. 

  
But think about it. We were friends online. Who became friends in real life. Who became best friends. Who fell in love. How cool is that?

Right now she’s pregnant and has hyperimisis so she is very sick. She’s bed fast most of the time, hooked full time to IV fluids and a Zofran pump through her PICC line. Hurting, on mega doses of antibiotics from a blood infection and also taking lots of other meds. She’s sick, hurting, a tiny bit grumpy and not able to do much of anything. 

And to me?

She’s perfect. 

She keeps me from being too serious, keeps me from withdrawing into myself or dwelling on my past mistakes more than I should. She incourages me, helps me and loves me. Right now life is tough. It’s hard. But it’s temporary. Our love is not. So we are the odd couple. It works for us. 

  
I can’t take her out to eat, or buy her anything nice, or even give her a way to feel better. But I am here. I’m staying. I’m happy. And I’m doing the best I can with what we have today. 

Happy birthday my love. 

  

Leave a Reply

