One Of Those Days

It’s turning out to be one of those days. I’m pretty sick today and between the heat and having to worship at the porcelain throne I ain’t getting much accomplished. I have bills that have to be paid, but I just can’t seem to get out enough to scrape anything up. 

  
I noticed a lot of my blog posts are missing. Just “poof”, gone. The vacation post and several on cooking and one on building outbuildings. I have no idea what happened. I know I didn’t delete them and no one else is supposed to be able to. I guess it’s either WordPress doesn’t like me or I should have got the paid version lol. 

  
I’ve been thinking that sometime in the future I should probably get someone to set up a real website. It would be nice to be able to have everything in one place and not have such limited storage. To have pages like I see on other peoples sites where you can click a link to see pages like “pictures of the farm”, “pictures of our critters”, “how we grow our produce”, “contact info”, and stuff like that. Something with links to a blog, Facebook and other stuff. I’m such a technical idiot though I’d have to hire someone to do all the setups and teach me to use the cussed thing. And I’m sure it will cost a lot of money I don’t have. My wife could probably do it, but I don’t want her doing anything as sick as she’s been. 

Any of my tech friendly customers or freinds want to take on a project like that in trade for produce, meat, eggs or woodwork? Didn’t thing so. Oh well. 

  
I know if I ever want to be successful in this modern world I’m going to have to figure out a way to get some publicity for the things I do. Produce, woodworking, the critters both farm animals and our pets and exotics. I have no idea how these people get thousands of hits and freinds. I don’t even know hundreds much less thousands. 

My sister wants me to write how-to e-books and sell on Amazon for a few bucks each. I don’t know how and I dang sure ain’t no writer. One of my daughters suggested a YouTube channel with short videos of different things around the farm like how to care for chickens, how to ferment kraut,  raising mealworms for poultry food and such. I can barely watch YouTube and have no idea how to post anything there. I also don’t see how I could hold a camera and do that stuff at the same time. Plus who in their right mind would want to watch me do any dang thing? I’ve had several people tell me I needed to write a book using my blog and all the other stuff I’ve written over the years. While I appreciate their support and optimism I just don’t see myself as having anything to say that matters and that anyone would care to read. It still amazes me I have like four “followers” on here. 

  
In the past week I’ve had two people offer to help with a seed fund. That sorta floors me. I don’t see a lot of positive in the world anymore and here, out of the blue, two people offer to help me buy seeds for a crop that might or might not ever grow and get harvested. There’s still good out there. It’s amazing timing too because even if I start fairly  small it’s still going to cost several hundred dollars just to buy good seeds in a good variety. 

I do wish sometimes I was better at all the technology stuff. 

  
I really need to sit down and get my seed list figured out, make orders from each of the companies I trust and do business with, and get a true idea of what crops will be planted between now and the first of the year. 

But it will have to wait. Tonight I just want to snuggle up with my wife and try to relax. 

  

Leave a Reply

