Back In Mississippi 

Two years, six months and one day in Florida. Now we are back in our old house in Glen Mississippi. 

   
 I’m not going into the reasons for the move, but it was something we had no choice in and something we should have done sooner. We are leaving some wonderful friends but we have to do what we need to for our family. 

I had forgotten how different it is here. People are friendly here. The pace of life is slower. The groceries are half the price they are there. It’s coming home. No other way to say it. 

   
 The second night we were here I needed bread. I drove to the store and came home without bread. I forgot the local grocery store closes at 8pm. But when they are open, they load your groceries in the car for you. They greet you and will even point out sale items or tell you to be sure and stop at the competitions store down the road when you leave because “they got a sure enough good sale on pork this week”. 

Anyway, it’s been hectic since we got back. We left Florida on a Saturday evening and made it home early Sunday morning. Fourteen hours straight driving. 

   
 
Everything is growing here. The peach trees should have been sprayed this spring and they are in need of pruning but are loaded with old-time clingstone peaches. The crabapples, the pears and assorted apples are in danger of breaking the limbs they are so full of fruit. I missed the plums and strawberries but was just in time for the first tomatoes. 

   
 
There are many tomato plants well over six feet high and still growing. Butternut squash, okra, purple hull peas, watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, onions, cucumbers, just so much bounty on the old place. 

  
I can’t wait to get started planting the fall garden! 

It does look strange with no critters here. My uncle has three butchering hogs in my old pig pen but there are no chickens, ducks, guineas, peafowl, game birds, geese, doves, pigeons, goats, horses, cows… It just looks bare. We gotta work on that. 

 

But all that is for later. Em is back in the hospital so my time to write is very limited. Once things get straightened out I will be able to post to my blog much more often. 

So today I’m just checking in, I’ll post something a bit more substantial as soon as I can.  

Leave a Reply

