Catching Up

Wow! it’s been a while since my last post. Life has been busy here at the Lambert homestead!

Four weeks ago today we welcomed our newest family member into the world. Luke Grayson Lambert. A beautiful, perfect baby boy. After so much pain and worry he arrived totally without incident and has been doing great ever since. He is the most vocal little fella I’ve ever seen. I swear, he looks like he is trying to talk sometimes. He’s got my big ears but has his Momma’s eyes and toes.

Emily has been doing so much better since the baby was born. She is tired and wore out from taking care of all of us and trying to do housework, but she’s her old self again. I’m so happy to have her back and out of danger. It’s funny in a way, she is excited to get back in her pre-pregnancy jeans and I am just excited she’s healthy and not in the hospital anymore.


As soon as I can get the pictures on this computer where I can find them I want to post all about little Luke. I also have posts in mind about lots of other things like Emily and I and our love story, my newest bad luck – gout, mud, and so much more.

I’m home today because I’m sick with a stomach bug and the boss gave me the day off. I think he’s afraid he will catch it too since we had another of the crew out most of last week with this crud. It is rough. I lay down and I get acid in the back of my throat so I’m sitting up and figured if I had to sit up, I might as well write a bit.


On the rare times I’ve had a free moment I’ve been working on firming up our plans for next spring here on the farm. Emily has built us a web store for the CSA and our vegetable garden. I’m still working on filling everything out and getting it all listed so we can go live with it. I’m just a country farmer so all this computer stuff is alien to me. I guess that’s what the world relies on now though, so I’ll do the best I can to modernize and hope I can figure enough of it out to survive. *sigh*

I can’t help but stress over everything though. What if all the people who asked me to raise things for them don’t go through with it and pay? Emily is always telling me how many people read my blog and how many calls, messages and conversations she has with folks about the farm. I don’t see it though. I have like six followers here and hardly ever any comments. I do know people are getting scared of the grocery store crap and wanting to reconnect with their food and where it comes from and how it is raised. I’ve had about 20 people tell me they wanted in on the CSA, I’ve got several families right now wanting in on a cow share for fresh milk and butter. I’ve got a list of folks wanting meat shares like poultry, beef and pork. Eggs, cottage crafts, game birds, fermented products, cheeses, canned goods. I can do most all of it. I won’t be able to do it all and be legal here, but I could.

But what if I put all this work into it, find some way to get enough money to finance the startup costs and then…nothing? It’s scary. Oh well, at least my family will eat good. After all, It’s all I know.


Our friend Pat and her family is moving up here soon. She has said she wants to help with everything, so that will take a lot off of me. I worry about days like this when I’m sick and can’t work. Even a couple of days could make things a mess, but as long as I have Em and Pat to help me out it will take a lot of stress off my shoulders. I’m really hoping we will get some volunteers to help with occasional chores too from the people who are wanting to learn to farm. I love teaching the few things I know.

My darn barn hallway is flooded. I think I’ve got a new wet weather spring coming up to the surface in there. The only thing I know to do is to install a French drain and then put a raised floor in that room. I like having the water table close to the surface here, but it sometimes wrecks havoc with things. I’m so sick of mud I could scream. Everything is wet and muddy this time of year. I’ll be glad when I can get walkways built around to all the pens so I don’t have to deal with fighting the mud anymore. And get water lines ran so I don’t have to haul water. And electric so I don’t have to feed in the dark on these short winter days. Farming is a never ending job though. It’s all part of life on a small homestead.


And with all the stress, being sick, wading mud and trying to figure out how I’m going to pay bills?

 

I wouldn’t change a thing.

 

I’ve got a great wife, wonderful kids, good friends and a plan.

 

Life is good.

One thought on “Catching Up

  1. I read your blog, but I do not comment or follow it. I am a huge fan of yours! I have followed you since your posts on BYC! I read them all and really wish you would post more often.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

