Less Is More

I am humbled sometimes by all the attention I receive from total strangers on my blog. I had no idea when I started writing that so many people would read it or could possibly be interested in the musings of a simple country man. Thank you one and all for the kind comments and messages I’ve received. It does encourage me to continue to write and share my thoughts and experiences. Sometimes the attention makes me a bit uncomfortable but it also makes me feel like I might have something to contribute. 

Last post I was a bit down and tired. Today I want to lighten things up a bit with some reflections on life and living. 

I suppose I have a different view on life because of how I was raised and to an extent by the life I’ve chosen to live, but I’m confused by the bondage people sign up for. To me it’s like being a volunteer slave. Bear with me and I will try to explain. 

I’m not going to name names, but several people I know, including family members, have huge homes, drive new cars and wear only the most expensive clothing. They also work sixty hours a week, never spend any time in their fancy homes and are genuinely miserable.  I know some who have so much stuff they don’t even know what all they do have. It’s like they work so hard to have a life that they forget to live. 

Now I’m not knocking wealth or comfort. Lord knows I could use a little less monetary stress in my life. I salute those who are successful. I just see many who think money equals happiness. 

I’m simple. I am able to look at things from a different angle. This post started with a comment from someone this week. They asked me “how can you be so happy being poor?”

Poor?

I’m not poor. I’m the richest man I know. I guess I just look at my wealth in a different light. I just learned over the years what really matters. And it’s not money. I chased that dream once. And I was miserable. Then I lost it all. 

And I found myself. 

I realized that I missed my older kids growing up. I lost friends that I should have visited at their home instead of at the funeral home. I lost precious time with my family members as they grew old. And I wasted so many years chasing an illusion of happiness. Now I’m older. I know who I am now and what I need and want. I realize what makes me happy. 

I need shelter. A home that is dry, warm in winter and cool in summer. It doesn’t need to be large or fancy, but for my piece of mind it needs to be well built, clean and safe. Because I love peace and quiet it needs to be in the country and semi secluded. I need way to prepare my food, a place to sleep, a way to shower and a way to comfortably sit and read, visit with family and just live. I am an outdoor person, so I need outdoor living space like a porch or deck, outdoor seating and I like having pretty landscaping. I need to know it’s mine. That no one can take it away from me and leave me homeless again. 

I need people in my life I can trust. People who love me for me, not what I have or what I can give them.  

I like simple food. Fresh natural food. Looking in the cupboards and seeing row after row of home canned goods feels like I imagine a rich man would feel looking at his gold. Knowing I have a garden for vegetables and a way to feed and supply my families needs makes me feel secure. 

I’m rich because I’m surrounded by what I love. I wake every morning to my beautiful wife. The best friend who supports my dreams and stands by my side no matter what life throws at us. I have my kids and thank God every day for them. I have wonderful family and friends. I have a home, my tiny farm, my critters and my dreams. Everything here is wore out and in need of repair but it’s ours. And I can see the promise of better days to come if I don’t give up and keep working hard. 

I’m am so lucky. And the good part is that I know I’m lucky. Tonight as I sit here on the porch writing I feel good. I’m tired, I’ve got lots of bills and responsibilities and I’m so far behind I feel like I’m never going to see daylight. 

And it’s ok. 

Life goes on. I’m happy. I’m blessed. And as I head to bed to snuggle with my wife and newborn son I know that tomorrow is another day. We will be ok. I will be ok. 

Life is good. 

Leave a Reply

