The Good Life


Here it is the first of September and I can’t figure out where the year has went. I woke up this morning to a wonderful 72 degrees with sunny skies and a light breeze. An absolutely beautiful day! The coolest day we’ve had since early last spring. 

Em has a migraine this morning, so I let her rest and I got the kids dressed and fed, fixed myself a cup of coffee and we headed outside to enjoy the day. 


As I sit here under the old fence row oaks in my “thinking spot” and think back over the past few years, I’m amazed at all the things we have lived through. Sickness, loss of my job and income, the stroke, Em’s hospitalizations and near death, Lily’s surgery, the terrible year we had with our farm, failures and defeat at every turn. And somehow I feel it’s finally going to get better. 

We have the best kids a couple could ever ask for and they are all healthy, happy and growing. We’ve got a home, a roof over our heads, food to eat and most of all a dream of better things to come. I’m recovering well from the stroke and ready to figure out where I can go from here to make a living. I’ve quit smoking, started eating healthier and am working on being a better person. Heck, Em is even trying to get me housebroken (I’m taking my shoes off before I go in the house). It’s been a journey, but life is good. 


Last Saturday a friend from Alabama came over and brought a bunch of folks with him to help us clean up around the farm. I owe him a debt of gratitude and am blessed to know such people. It is so nice to have things caught up enough to where I feel I can take back over running the farm myself. For several years it had been going downhill because I just wasn’t here or able to keep up with it all. A few hours of people pulling together got it well on its way though. 

Which leads me full circle back to thoughts and ideas I’ve had since I was a teen. Community. People helping others and truly living instead of just being alive. Being contented. Being fulfilled. Being happy. Belonging. 


I guess at times it sounds like I want more. But really I want less. I want less stress, less sickness, less bills, less worries, less hurry and bustle. All I have ever wanted is to live simple. It’s time. 

I grew up simple. Our family was poor, but we took care of our own and we raised most everything we needed. And we were happy. We were controlled by the weather and the seasons, but not so much by money, jobs or schedules. As I get older I see that the simple life I tried to get away from was the only life that really mattered. 


I’m not sure what will be next. I don’t have all the answers. But I do know I want to simplify my life, I want to teach or at least share with others the skills I learned as a kid growing up on a small homestead. I want to get away from the negative and surround myself with those who also value honesty, truth and community. I want to walk lightly upon the land and leave it better than I found it. I want my kids to grow up free and aware of what is important. I want to take care of my family and still be able to help others too. 

Life is good. There are always days that make things hard, but I have to remind myself that those things are fleeting and that it’s going to get better. Life always finds a way. 

Enjoy today. 

Spend time with those you love. 

And finally…
Just breathe. 

Leave a Reply

