Goodnight 2016

2016. What a year. 
To quote Jimmy Buffet, “some of it’s tragic, some of it’s magic, but I had a good life all the way.” 
I had a massive stroke and almost died. Found out I’m having seizures. Lost most of my memory. Was turned down for disability. Emily was diagnosed with narcolepsy and has had a bad time of it. She has been so sick and still fighting migraines and such. We’ve sold off most of the animals on the farm including our milk cow and are barely hanging on to the rest.  We didn’t have any help with the garden after my stroke so we were not able to do any canning or preserving this year. We’ve went through sickness and surgery with the kids. Went through several weeks with no vehicle. Have been as broke as I’ve ever been in my entire life. Now it’s winter and we can’t yet afford to buy firewood to heat the house. 

But…

The good sooo outweighs the bad. 
I’m still here and still kickin’, I might not be the man I was but I’m able to walk, talk and I thank God every day for my blessings. Emily will be able to afford her medicine soon and she has gotten some of her freedom back with her wonderful service dog. She is able to get out a bit now and looks so much happier. The kids are all doing well now and happy. I have a beautiful new grand baby. We have found we have some of the greatest friends who have helped us while I was down. We sold most of the critters but we still have my favorites, the Kune Kune pigs, and Emily has some of the best stock runner ducks and Sebastopol geese in the state. We are broke and in debt right now, but she has her hedgehogs and I have my rodent business that is growing weekly and will soon be paying off hopefully. We’ve got a roof over our heads and three squares on the board. We’ve got a vehicle and although it needs work, it’s paid for and it’s ours. Last week, with my wife’s urging, I sold my first bit of writing in over 25 years. 

But best of all? We are so happy. We might get stressed sometimes but we are a happy family. We are in love and we love our lives. I know it sounds crazy, but I really feel like we are right where we need to be. 

2017 is going to be our year. I’m going into it optimistic and am going to work my butt off to make it our year. I’m going to put family first. Collect memories. Love more, laugh more, eat dessert first, think positive, let the kids be loud, plant more flowers, write more, read more, eat new foods, spend time educating folks when they ask, pray more, tell my wife how much she means to me, work hard, rest often, judge less and accept more. And every day I’m going to thank God for all my many blessings. 

Happy new year!

May 2017 be a blessing to us all!

Leave a Reply

